2 Things God is keeping from you


1. What will hurt you.
2. What will keep you from Him.
More on these in a minute.

My purpose is to encourage others to examine where they are headed in life, through speaking and writing. Right now I’m working on improving both. I first discovered my purpose just by asking God. I felt like it was something that I would really like to do. God showed me there were many people that didn’t have direction in life, who were just floating along.

After about 9 months of moving forward, I was distracted. I didn’t see how I could pursue it while I was in my current job. Each day I had a 3 hour commute, so I was gone for about 12 hours a day. Between work, sleep, kid’s homework, chores and trying to keep up with everything else I was exhausted. So I figured I needed to start to plan how to get out of my current job and start a business. This way I could create more time for myself, my family and my purpose. It looked very promising, but I would have to put my purpose on hold for a year or two until I had replaced my income. I found no peace while I was trying to set this up, I seemed to be more grumpy and discontented. After about 3 months of changing directions, I couldn’t do it anymore. I realized I was trying to go outside of the boundaries that God had set for me. I was not trusting in God, but I was trusting in myself.

Those boundaries he had put up in my life were there for good reason, my protection. Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not rely on your own understanding”. I needed to keep trusting in what God had already told me. I saw the grass as being greener on the other side and thought I could come up with a better plan. In my pride I thought I knew what was best, but once again I was wrong, God knew what was best.

When our kids were toddlers, we would have certain areas for them to play in, safe areas where they couldn’t get hurt. No matter how much they cried, we wouldn’t let them play with something or somewhere that could hurt them. We had boundaries for them not to cross for their protection, we weren’t being mean, we just knew what was best for them. Just like God with us, he knows the areas where we could get hurt and just like those little babies we cry and cry because we can’t have something. We think God is holding out on us, keeping us away from some benefit. The only things he is holding back from us are things that will hurt us and things that will keep us from him.

Evaluate your life, are you trying to override the plans God has for you? Are you going somewhere you shouldn’t be, or is God telling you to stop and turn around? Is your current pursuit keeping you from your purpose?

When we look back on our lives we will wish we would have stayed in the boundaries God had for us. If we haven’t learned yet, we will realize we should of not leaned in our understanding but his, but trusted in his.

What boundaries does God have for you?
In what ways have you leaned in your own understanding of something?

Let us know, be an encouragement to someone!

About Michael

A married man for 15 awesome years, to my Beautiful bride, trailed by 2 kids. I hope to help other husbands to also have a great and God honoring marriage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

